Dinosaur National Monument River TripsTrips may be delayed or permits invalidated if conditions in these stipulations are not met. Failure to comply with stipulations or launching without a permit may result in penalties under Federal or Utah or Colorado law and regulations. Penalties may include criminal action, civil action, and denial of future permits.
Requirements and RegulationsBoating within Dinosaur National Monument is by Permit Only. All individuals wishing to boat within Dinosaur National Monument must possess a permit issued by the Recreation.gov. Permits are non-transferable and are for one launch only. Individuals can have only one application in the high use lottery system and can be listed no more than once within each lottery Having more than one application in the Lottery System will result in any trip acquired through that lottery being forfeited.
Individuals Can Have Only One Permit at a Time Permit holders must launch their trips on the date and at the location listed on their permit. Likewise, they may only take out on the date and at the location listed on their permit. Permit holders may change the launch date ONE TIME if the request is made more than two weeks prior to the originally scheduled launch date and another date is available.
One High-Use Trip Per Year All noncommercial participants are limited to a maximum of one high-use trip per year through any portion of the multi-day section of the Green or Yampa Rivers within Dinosaur National Monument.Participation by the trip leader/permittee or any other planned member of a group on any prior noncommercial river trip within the same year will result in that person's disqualification from holding a permit in the Monument for the rest of that year and the subsequent year. This rule may be waived by the National Park Service (NPS) in cases where the high-use trip was picked up as a cancellation less than two weeks prior to the launch date. If the original permittee is disqualified from the trip or cannot go on the trip for any other reason, the noncommercial trip will be cancelled.This rule may be waived by the NPS in cases where documentation is provided for death or serious medical cases only. The NPS will make its decision on a case-by-case basis.
Wearing Personal Flotation Devices (PFDs) Every person on board any vessel shall wear a PFD at all times, except PFDs may be loosened or removed by persons 13 years of age or older, between Cove Campsite and Rainbow Park boat ramp.
Permit Violations and Penalties Permit holders who violate the terms and conditions of their permit may receive a fine and/or have their privileges to hold a permit in the park revoked. Violations of the permit fall under 36 CFR and the Superintendent's Compendium. Maximum fine can be up to $5,000 and/or up to six months in prison.
Trip Leader/Qualifying Boatman Experience The trip leader and boatmen must have a working knowledge of whitewater safety, general first aid, river equipment repair, and the techniques of white water navigation. The trip leader must be at least 18 years of age. Experience on the Green and Yampa Rivers in Dinosaur National Monument or on other comparable class III or higher whitewater rivers is mandatory (such as the Rogue, Selway, North Platte, Grand Canyon, Westwater, and others). It is preferable that the trip leader or another member of the party be familiar with the rivers within Dinosaur National Monument.
Age Requirement for Lottery and Potential Trip Leaders Lottery applicants, permit holders, and trip leaders must be 18 years or older by any requested launch date.
Trip Size Noncommercial river trips shall include no more than 25 persons (total includes the trip leader/permittee and all passengers) at any point on the trip. People traveling under one permit must travel and camp together and occupy only one campsite.
Trip Lengths During high-use, the normal trip length on the Green River is four days and on the Yampa River it is five days. If the permit holder requests and is granted an over-length trip, the number of days can be extended to five days on the Green, and six days on the Yampa River. During low-use season the maximum trip length for the Green River is six days, and seven days for the Yampa River. Trips may never exceed the trip lengths listed on the permit. The length of the permit cannot be changed after the permit has been issued.
Permits are Not Transferable Noncommercial permits are not transferable. The permittee must accompany the entire river trip.
Passenger Lists An accurate passenger list must be completed prior to launch. Additions or substitutions to the passenger list will not be allowed at the launch site.
Trip Checkout Form and Required Identification/Documentation
All permit holders must present a valid, unaltered photo identification (i.e., driver's license, state issued identification or passport) to the ranger during the check-in inspection. The permit holder must also present their permit, which they are required to have on them for the duration of the trip. If a ranger is not available at your permit launch point, the permit holder must complete a trip checkout form found near the kiosk at the boat ramp before departing. In addition to the permit, the permit holder is required to have a copy of their 2014 Boater's Information Booklet
and a copy of their passenger list. When the permit holder has neither photo identification nor proper documentation, the trip will NOT be allowed to launch.
Generator Use Because the river corridors are recommended wilderness, generators may only be used on boat ramps at the launch and take-out points.
Pets Pets are not permitted on river trips.
Echo Park Due to high use at Echo Park, please tie boats as closely together as possible.
Ranger River Patrols A NPS ranger may, on occasion, travel with or inspect noncommercial parties to ensure compliance with permit conditions and to provide additional safety through major rapids. Rangers carry radios and satellite phones and are able to call in additional resources if there is an emergency.
Resource Protection Natural or historical features such as rocks, old mining artifacts, fossils, flowers, antlers or Indian artifacts, may not be removed or disturbed. Removing, disturbing or defacing natural, historic, cultural or archeological features is prohibited. Shooting, trapping, molesting or feeding wildlife is prohibited. Please report wildlife observations (date, locations and time) on the back of the river permit. Picking or gathering of plants is prohibited.
Fishing Fishing is permitted, subject to all state regulations and licenses of the state in which the person is fishing. Anyone fishing must have a valid Colorado and/or Utah fishing license, depending upon the state in which they fish.
Abandonment of Property Property left more than 24 hours or that interferes with visitor safety may be impounded by the Superintendent at any time. The owner of record or the permit holder may be liable for any charges associated with removal of property.
Lunch Spots Please be aware of others' needs if you stop for lunch at campsite landings as the campsite may be assigned to the group behind you for the evening. If you stop for lunch at high-use trailheads or scouting locations, please ensure that others can still use these locations.
Firearms and Other Weapons The possession of firearms must comply with state law; however, the use of firearms is prohibited. The possession or use of other weapons, explosives and fireworks is prohibited.
Alcohol and Other Controlled Substances Boating under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance to a degree that may endanger oneself or others, damage property or park resources is prohibited. All underage drinking is prohibited.
Required Equipment Checklist Adult Personal Flotation Devices (PFDs) Type I, Type III or Type V Coast Guard approved life jackets must be properly worn by each participant while on any craft in the river (except from Cove Campsite to Rainbow Park boat ramp on the Green River). Type III and Type V life jackets must be approved for whitewater activities (rafting, paddling, etc.), must have a static shell with a minimum inherent buoyancy of 15.5 lbs (for adults), must be appropriate for size and weight of the user, and must be in good condition. PFDs showing excessive signs of wear will not be approved for use. Horse-collar type life jackets and ski and fishing vests are not acceptable.
Child PFDs Children must properly wear an appropriately sized Type III or V PFD rated for their weight with a static shell and a minimum inherent buoyancy of 11 lbs at all times. Horse-collar type life jackets and ski and fishing vests are not acceptable. You must bring a spare child-size PFD for all trips with children.
Spare PFDs One spare Type I, Type III, or Type V Coast Guard approved life jacket must be carried in each raft, dory, or paddleboat. Spare life jackets must be an appropriate for size and weight of the potential users, including spare PFDs for children. One spare Type I, Type III, or Type V life jacket must be carried for every three canoes, kayaks, and standup paddlers. If there is only one small craft, one spare must be carried.
Spare Oars/Paddles One spare oar for each raft or dory, one spare paddle for every paddle raft, and one spare paddle for every three kayaks, canoes, or standup paddlers must be carried. Paddles designed to be strapped to or worn on the hands meet this requirement. If there are fewer than three kayaks or canoes as part of the trip, one extra paddle is required. Spare paddles and life jackets for canoes, kayaks, and standup paddlers may be carried on a support boat.
First Aid Kits One major first aid kit for the entire group and one basic first aid kit for each boat on the trip must be carried.
Toilet Containers Each group must carry and use at least one container toilet system that is washable, reusable, and will not leak when inverted to carry out human waste on multi-day trips. It must be accessible for use during the day. Bag systems (such as wag bags or PET systems) are not permitted. Toilet systems are strongly recommended, but not required on 1-day trips.
Spray Skirts and Flotation Water-tight spray skirts and flotation for each hard shelled kayak and/or decked canoe are required.
Air Pump An air pump is required in each group with inflatable boats.
Boat Repair Kits Repair kits suitable for each type of boat on the trip are required.
Strainer A mesh strainer for dishwater and ashes is required for multi-day trips, but not on 1-day trips.
Fire Pan Fire pans must be elevated a minimum of four inches off the ground. Fire pans must be a minimum size of 100 square inches with at least a 3-inch rim. Kayaks or canoes without raft support may substitute a gas stove. If there is a fire ban in the monument, fire pans are not required.
Fire Blanket A fireproof tarp, blanket, or welder's cloth must be carried and placed under the fire pan. It must be of sufficient size to catch coals and ashes around the fire pan. One-day trips are only required to have a fire pan and fire blanket if building a fire.
Bailing Device Each boat with a non-self bailing floor must carry a bailing device.
Flotation for Open Dories and Whitewater Canoes Open dories and whitewater canoes must have securely attached flotation equal to two-thirds of volume or eight cubic feet. Decked Dories Closed or decked dories must have leak-proof, sealed chambers.
Helmets Helmets are required for all canoeists, kayakers (including inflatable kayaks) and standup paddlers and must be worn in all named rapids, including: Teepee, Little Joe, Five Springs, Big Joe, Warm Springs, Winnie's Rapid, Disaster Falls, Harp Falls, Triplet, Hell's Half Mile, Greasy Pliers, Moonshine, SOB, Schoolboy and Inglesby. Bike helmets are not appropriate. You should carry one spare helmet for every three craft.
Rescue Kit One rescue kit (also known as a sweep kit or z-drag kit) containing adequate gear to rescue a trapped boat for each group is required. Participants should have knowledge of river rescue techniques.
Type IV Device One throwable Type IV device, seat cushion, or throw bag per boat is required.
Paperwork A current copy of the Boater's Information Booklet, an accurate passenger list that matches the one on file with the Dinosaur National Monument River Office, and a permit for launch from the Dinosaur National Monument River Office are required to be readily available at all times.
Kitchen Floor Tarp
Camping Regulations During high-use season (from the second Monday in May until the second Friday in September), camp only in campsites assigned by the Dinosaur National Monument River Office. During low-use season, boaters may choose which designated campsites they wish to stay at; sites are available first-come, first-serve. Additional camping regulations include: