
 

BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT 

RIVER USE STIPULATIONS 
FOR PRIVATE, NONCOMMERCIAL USE 

DESOLATION CANYON 
 
Trips may be delayed or permits invalidated if conditions in these 

stipulations are not met. Failure to comply with stipulations or 

launching without a permit may result in penalties under Federal 

or Utah law and regulations. Penalties may include criminal 

action, civil action, and denial of future permits.  

  

1. The permit is not transferable without prior approval of the 

issuing office and must be in the possession of the permittee on the 

trip. Permittee must provide photo ID at permit inspection.  

 

2. The permittee must allow rangers to complete permit checks to 

determine the validity of the permit, ascertain that the group has all 

required equipment, and orient participants about river etiquette and 

safety.  

 

3. The permittee must have at the launch:  

a. a group of 25 people or fewer and not greater than the number 

pre-paid for on the permit,  

 

b. a first aid kit with adequate materials for the size of the group and 

sufficient for treating serious injuries,  

 

c. a repair kit or kits with adequate materials to repair the types of 

boats used on the trip,  

 

d. an air pump or pumps adequate to inflate boats after repairs.  

 

e. a washable, leak-proof, reusable toilet system that allows for the 

carry-out and disposal of solid human body waste in a responsible 

and lawful manner. The system must be adequate for the size of the 

group and length of the trip. Leaving solid human body waste on 

Public Land or dumping it into vault toilets or trash receptacles 

at BLM facilities is prohibited.  

 

f. a durable metal fire pan at least 12 inches wide with at least a 1.5 

inch lip around its outer edge and sufficient to contain fire and 

remains. Fire pans must be carried on all trips, even if stoves are 

to be used for cooking. Fire blankets under fire pans are 

recommended to facilitate total ash removal.  

 

g. a properly-sized Type I, III, or V PFD (approved on the label for 

paddling, whitewater, kayaking) for each member of the party.  

 

4. Each raft, dory, or canoe must have at the launch:  

a. an extra oar, paddle, or motor capable of  

maneuvering the vessel, and  

 

b. a bail bucket or bilge pump (does not apply to self-baling boats, 

kayaks, and inflatable kayaks).  

 

5. Parties using low capacity vessels (kayaks, inflatable kayaks, or 

canoes) must carry spare paddles as follows: 1-3 such craft require 

1 spare paddle, 4-6 required 2 spare paddles. 7-9 required 3 spare 

paddles, etc.  

 

 

 

 
 

 

6. Each boat 16 feet or longer must have a Type IV throwable 

device or a commercially made rescue rope with at least 40 feet of 

line.  

 

7. The permittee must ensure that all trip participants:  

a. carry all charcoal, fire ash, garbage (dishwater strainers 

recommended), and solid human body out of the river area,  

 

b. adhere to the Utah Boating Act (Title 73, Chapter 18),  

which includes the wearing of life jackets where required 
(children ages 12 and under must wear PFD’s at all times when 

boating on the river, and all persons must wear a PFD from Jack 

Creek Rapid to the take out.), and registration of motorboats,  

 

c. do not engage in commercial use as defined by 43 CFR 2932.5, 

i.e., 1) make a salary or profit or increase his or her financial standing 

as a result of the permitted trip, 2) charge other participants a fee or 

charge that is not strictly a sharing of trip costs, or 3) collect money 

or compensation in excess of actual expenses for the trip. Normally 

participants are not in a commercial use situation if they equally 

share the actual trip costs,  

 

d. list any trip sponsor or affiliated organization, e.g., scout group, 

school, etc., associated with the trip on the permit application,  

 

e. keep side canyon streams and springs free of soap and other 

contaminants,  

 

f. not remove, damage or destroy archaeological, historical, or 

ecological resources, or cause unnecessary or undue damage to the 

natural and cultural resources of the public lands.  

 

g. not camp or build fires on Public Land within ½ mile of the mouth 

of Rock Creek.  

 

h. make campfires only in fire pans and limit the use of gathered 

wood for campfires to driftwood found along river banks and 

beaches,  

 

i. not engage in upstream motorized travel except for  

emergency purposes, or engage in downstream motorized travel at 

other than a slow, wakeless speed  

 

j. launch, travel (stay within visual contact), and camp together as a 

group. No boats may be sent ahead to secure campsites. Groups 

launching separately may not camp together if such action would 

result in more than 25 persons occupying a campsite, and  

 

k. boat tags issued by the river ranger must remain attached to boats 

for the entire trip.  

 

8. Pets are prohibited on the Desolation Gray Canyons section of the 

Green River year round.  

 

9. Minimum trip length is 3 calendar days. Maximum trip length is 9 

calendar days.  


