Fergus Falls Wetland Management District

Fish and Wildlife Service, Minnesota.

The Fergus Falls Wetland Management District was established in 1962 with the initiation of the Accelerated Small Wetlands Acquisition Program. It includes the counties of Douglas, Grant, Otter Tail, Wadena and Wilkin. The mission of the district is to identify, protect, and restore the tallgrass prairie/wetland ecosystem and associated habitats and to provide opportunities for outdoor recreation and environmental education. For this purpose, the district currently manages 215 waterfowl production areas (WPAs) totaling 43,962 acres, and 1,101 acres of perpetual easements protecting 21,909 acres of wetlands on private land. Forty-six perpetual wildlife habitat easements covering 3,350 acres of native and non-native habitats on private land have also been obtained.

Nearby Activities


Take I-94 to State Highway 210 East (Exit 57) and travel east one mile to the Prairie Wetlands Learning and three miles to the headquarters.

Additional Information

Photo Gallery