Bureau of Land Management, Utah.
The Gunnison Massacre Site is significant in its ties to the history of exploration, railroad construction, Indian-white relations, and the Mormon experience in the West. The massacre occurred on October 26, 1853. Captain John W. Gunnison, leader of the 38th Parallel Railroad Survey, and seven others were killed by Indians of the Pahvant Tribe (Ute). Killed with Gunnison were Richard H. Kern (topographer and artist), F. Creufeldt (botanist), William Potter, (a Momon guide), Private Caulfield, Private Liptoote, Private Mehreens, and John Bellows (camp roustabout). Four members of the survey party escaped. The site of the massacre was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1976. A stone monument marks the spot where the massacre occurred. To get to it, travel west from Delta on Highway 50, and several miles past Hinckley to a road sign that marks the turn off. Go south about 1/2 mile to the marker. Because of vandalism, the plaque describing the event was moved to the Great Basin Museum in Delta.
Approximately 5 miles west of Hinckley look for the historical marker sign, turn south and travel approximately 2 miles on a gravel road to the site.