Near Memphis, Tennessee
The Peabody Memphis does not offer reservations through Recreation.gov. Please take a look at the area details below for more information about visiting this location. Enjoy your visit!
The Peabody Memphis, built in 1869 and a member of Historic Hotels of America® since 1996 was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1977.
Historic Hotels of America is the official program of the National Trust for Historic Preservation® for recognizing and celebrating the finest historic hotels across America.
The original Peabody Hotel opened in 1869 as a symbol of the rebirth of the South. Named for philanthropist George Peabody, it quickly became the business and social hub of Memphis, and in 1925, it was rebuilt on its present Union Avenue location. In 1933, general manager Frank Schutt returned from a weekend hunting trip and mischievously placed live duck decoys in the hotel's lobby fountain; it was a stunt that became the genesis of the hotel's unique signature tradition, the March of the Peabody Ducks. As Memphis experienced economic decline in the mid-1970s, The Peabody closed its doors; however, the South's Grand Hotel would not stay shuttered for long. It reopened in 1981 after an extensive restoration and breathed new life into downtown Memphis.
For Price Match Guarantee and Special Offers please visit, please visit HistoricHotels.org.