Experience Hunting on U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Lands

Home / Articles / Experience Hunting on U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Lands

At more than 400 national wildlife refuges, wetland management districts and national fish hatcheries from Alaska to Florida and Maine to California, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service lands offer some of the best hunting in the country.

Hunters have long been U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service partners. They have played a major role in the conservation of the nation’s wildlife resources since the late 19th century. Today’s sportsmen and sportswomen can be assured of quality hunts on national wildlife refuges, in particular. These hunts are carefully managed in accordance with the National Wildlife Refuge System’s mission.

National Hunting and Fishing Day, the fourth Saturday of September each year, provides opportunities for people from all walks of life to learn more about outdoor skills and conservation through hands-on hunting, shooting, fishing or archery activities and more. National, state and local organizations host these public events in various locations — from national wildlife refuges to national fish hatcheries to shooting ranges or suburban frog ponds.

A woman holding a gun within a marsh area

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (Tina Shaw)

Creating a memorable hunting experience on public lands starts with a few tips and guidelines.

Whether you are looking to hunt waterfowl on a national wildlife refuge in the Southeast, elk in the West, Dall sheep in Alaska, or deer in the Midwest or Northeast, go to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s Find Your Hunt! map and guide. There you can search for refuge hunts by state, Zip Code or species.
The zoomable map shows visitor centers, parking lots, check-in stations, nearby camping areas and other amenities. The guide provides detailed descriptions of available hunts as well as any permit requirements, fees and information about where to purchase your state hunting license. A state license is required for all hunting on all U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service lands.

Federal Duck Stamps are required for hunting waterfowl everywhere in the country, and proceeds from Duck Stamp sales are used to purchase and preserve wetland habitat. 

Explore Related Trips

Bring Home a Story